The essence of Bhutan's cultural heart

Bhutan remains a privileged destination because only few tourists visit the country each year. It has a unique policy of cultural and environmental preservation and a perennial and preserved religious life.  This trip allows an extensive cultural discovery of Bhutan, villages, dzongs and monasteries. It offers encounters, few nights at homestay and hiking as well as a beautiful approach to the essential sights of the Kathmandu Valley. No real trek but walks to approach the daily life of the Bhutanese and the natural diversity of Bhutan.

HIGHLIGHTS

- Visit of the top cultural places of Bhutan: Paro, Bumthang, Punakha, Taktsang
- Daily walks between villages, terraced cultures and lost hermitages
- Visit of dzongs, military administrative and monastic fortresses
- A few nights and meals at the inhabitant to be closer to the people
- The beautiful mountain flight between Kathmandu and Paro and the domestic flight
-

Gallery

Itinerary

  • Level of Trek: Easy
  • Best Period: April - May & September - November
  • Duration: 14 Days
  • Highest Altitude: 3 Meters
  • Flights: Kathmandu - Paro - Kathmandu
  • Accomodation: Hotel

For your next trek with us in the Himalayas, travel light and aware: Base Camp offers you a biodegradable soap made in Nepal, to leave no trace ...

Day
Airport pick- up, transfer to hotel and check-in.
- Accommodation: Hotel

Day to discover the gems of the Kathmandu Valley: Pashupatinath, a Hindu site dating from the 12th century, which is a cremation place dedicated to Shiva where pilgrims come to bathe in the holy river Bagmati. Then, we go the sumptuous pedestrian city of Bhaktapur, 15 km-far from Kathmandu, the most beautiful royal cities of the valley. Visit. Then return to the hotel in Kathmandu.
- Accommodation: Same hotel

Morning transfer to Kathmandu airport for a 1h30mn-flight to Paro. Reception by a Bhutanese representative and transfer to the hotel.
After lunch, visit to the National Museum. Originally a watchtower, this building was transformed into a museum by the third King Jigme Dorji Wangchuck in 1969. There are rare collections of Thangkas (religious paintings) and statues. The visit to this museum is an excellent introduction to the natural history and culture of Bhutan. Then, visit to the Paro Rinpung Dzong. Typical of the Bhutanese culture, the dzongs (fortresses) house the country’s political and religious administration. The Paro Dzong was built in the 17th century by Shabdrung Ngawang Namgyal, the founder of Bhutan. 200 monks live and mingle with the district administration. We descend to the famous wooden bridge and reach Paro.
- Free time in town.
- Accommodation: Hotel

Stop at the Tachhog temple. Then, we cross a metal suspension bridge of the 14th century, built by the Great Buddhist engineer and poet, the Lama Thang Tong Gyalpo, also known as the Lama Chakzampa. In Thimphu, visit to the School of painting. All religious paintings in temples, monasteries, houses and dzongs have been carried out by the graduate students of the school. Visit to the temple of Changangkha. Built in the 13th century, it is the most famous temple in Thimphu. We can appreciate a remarkable statue of Avalokitesvara (the Bodhisattva of compassion). Depending on the weather, visit to the Tashichho Dzong. It is the residence of Bhutan’s spiritual leader, the Je Khenpo. 350 monks live there in the summer. The king’s office is also in this fortress. In the late afternoon, you can visit one of the temples and take pictures in the inner courtyard.
- Free time in town.
- Travel time by car: 1 hour
- Accommodation: Hotel

Stop at the Dochu La Pass (3 150m). Panoramic view of the high Himalayan peaks of Bhutan.
As we go downhill, dramatic changes are observed: a semi-tropical vegetation appears. We have lunch and then walk to village of Nyzergang , walk until the temple of Khamsum Yuley Namgyeland stroll in the rice fields and villages.
On the way back, little walk to Chime Lhakhang in a lovely setting. Visit to the temple of one of Bhutan’s first saints: Drukpa Kunley, better known as the divine fool.
- Travel time by car: 3h 
- Hours of walking: 2h 
- Accommodation: Hotel
In the beautiful morning light, visit to the dzong of Punakha. Built in 1637, between Po Chhu (male river) and Mo Chhu (feminine river). This fortress-monastery is the winter residence of the Timphu monks. Then, drive on the Pele La Pass (3 425m), via the Black Mountain Ranges. They were the border of Eastern and Western Bhutan. Stop in Gangtey. The villagers are descendants of 140 gomchen (lay meditators). The monastic school of Gangtey was built in 1613. It is the largest school in Western Bhutan. After visiting school, descent to the Phobjikha Valley to watch lack-collar cranes (from November to February only).
- Travel time by car: 3h
- Hours of walking: 1h
- Accomodation: Hotel

It is one of the most beautiful roads in Bhutan. The summits are adorned with stupas, flags and prayer mills. We cross the villages of Rukupji, Chendebji and Tangsubjii. Stop to visit a Nepalese-style chorten built in the 19th century to subjugate the local demons. Approaching Trongsa, there is an impressive view of the dzong and its tower. Visit to the dzong, built in the 17th century, the most impressive and strategic of Bhutan. There live 200 monks.
- Travel time by car: 4h
- Accommodation: Hotel

Visit to Ta Dzong, a watchtower turned into a museum in 2008. There are 244 objects of the Wangchuck dynasty including the famous 'Raven crown' worn by the first king. It is said that the crown protected him during the wars. Drive to the Chume Valley and visit to the Tharpaling Monastery. Then, easy walk (3h) to the Jakar Valley, following the old path used by the first kings. We cross an easy pass (45mn) with an outstanding view. Then we go downhill without difficulty through a pine forest to reach the Jakar Dzong. In the evening, free time in Bumthang.
- Travel time by car: 2h
- Hours of walking: 3h
- Accommodation: Hotel

Day in the Jakar Valley and visit to the Jakar Dzong. It was also built in the 17th century. Called, the White Bird Dzong, it played an important role in the country’s defense. It is now the residence of 60 monks and the headquarters of the district administration. We continue the day at the Wangdicholing Palace. Built in 1900, it was the summer residence of the first two kings. Though it has been abandoned, very detailed paintings are beautiful. Visit of Jambay Lhakhang, built by King Songtsen Gampo of Tibet. It is one of the oldest temples in Bhutan. It is dedicated to the Buddha of Future "Buddha Maitreya" (In Tibetan “Jampa”).
Just before lunch, we go to Kurjey Lhakhang. Kurjey means footprint. Here, the Guru Rinpoche came for the first time to Bhutan in the 8th century and converted the king and the people to Buddhism. We can see the cave where he meditated and left body marks. Surrounded by 108 chortens, this place is one of the most revered in the country. Lunch in a farm to try out the real Bhutanese cuisine.
On the program, in the afternoon: visit to Tamshing Lhakhang. Built in the 15th century by Pema Lingpa who is venerated as the only great religious treasure born in Bhutan. Pema Lingpa was an artist and a major architect. The paintings inside the temple are the oldest in the country. A metal chain, used by Pema Lingpa, is still inside. Pilgrims can take a tour of the temple with this chain to purify their sins. Little tour of the town to end the day on a high note.
- Accommodation: Same hotel

Short walk to reach the beautiful Tang Valley, less visited by tourists. Visit to the House of Ogyen Choling, property of a Shabdrung descendant. Perfectly conserved, it is a first-rate museum. Stroll through the pastures near village houses. After a lunch by the river, 2 hours of walk in villages meeting schoolchildren in spree, houses and a sheep farm. Back to the hotel by car.

- Hours of walking: 2h
- Accommodation: Hotel

Traduction en Anglais. Flight to Paro in the morning (or afternoon): 35mn. According to the flight time, free morning in Bumthang and free afternoon in Paro.
- Accommodation: Hotel

Place of pilgrimage for more than 1200 years. Taktsang (the Tiger's nest) is hung at 600 meters on a steep cliff of the Paro Valley. Originally, this place was visited by Guru Rinpoche, the founder of Tantric Buddhism in the Himalayan countries. Many masters have meditated in these temples. It takes about 4 hours to walk from the car park (back and forth). Visit of Kyichu Lhakhang, one of the oldest temples in Bhutan (7th century).
- Hours of walking: 4h
- Accommodation: Hotel

In the morning, flight to Kathmandu. Welcome and transfer to the hotel. Visit to the sites of ancient Kathmandu, Patan and Bodhnath, depending on the time.
- Accommodation: Hotel

Transfer to the airport for the return flight.
End of our services.

What's included

- All land transportations
- Nights in full board in Bhutan
- 3 nights at Kantipur Temple House in Kathmandu on a BB basis
- Visits of the historic sites of Kathmandu and entrance fees
- Visa fees for Bhutan
- Entrances to the monuments in Bhutan
- 2 days visit in kathmandu with  english speaking cultural guide
- English speaking guide for entire trip in Bhutan

What's not included

- Meals in Kathmandu
- Visa for Nepal
- International flights and flights to Bhutan
- Repatriation insurance
- Tips, drinks, etc.
Question? Make an inquiry or call (977-1) 441 55 73

L’essentiel du cœur culturel du Bhoutan

Le Bhoutan, demeure une destination privilégiée grâce au peu de touristes qui s’y rendent chaque année, a une politique de préservation culturelle et environnementale unique ainsi qu'une vie religieuse vivace et préservée. 
Ce séjour offre une découverte culturelle extensive du Bhoutan, des villages, des dzongs et des monastères qui privilégie les rencontres, quelques nuits chez l’habitant, la randonnée ainsi qu'une belle approche des sites incontournables de la vallée de Katmandou.
Pas de véritable trek mais des balades pour approcher la vie quotidienne des bhoutanais et la diversité naturelle du Bhoutan.

POINTS FORTS

- Visite de hauts lieux culturels du Bhoutan : Paro, Bhumthang, Punakha, Takshang...
- Randonnées quotidiennes entre villages, cultures en terrasses et ermitages perdus
- Visite des dzong, forteresses militaires administratives et monastiques
- Quelques nuits et repas chez l’habitant pour être au plus près des populations
- Le beau vol de montagne entre Katmandou et Paro et le vol intérieur

Itinéraire

  • Difficulté: Facile
  • Saison optimale: Avril - Mai & Septembre - Novembre
  • Durée : 14
  • Vols: Katmandou - Paro - Katmandou
  • Hébergement: Hôtel
Pour votre prochain trek avec nous en Himalaya, voyagez léger et en conscience : Base Camp vous offre un savon biodégradable fabriqué au Népal, pour ne laisser aucune trace…
Journée

Accueil, transfert et installation à l'hôtel.
- Hébergement : Hôtel

Journée de découverte des joyaux de la vallée de Katmandou : Pashupatinath, site hindouiste datant du XIIe siècle, lieu de crémation dédié à Shiva où les pèlerins viennent se baigner dans la rivière sacrée Bagmati. Nous partons ensuite pour la somptueuse cité piétonne de Bhaktapur, à 15km de Katmandou, la plus belle des trois villes impériales de la vallée. Visite et retour à l’hôtel à Katmandou.
- Hébergement : Même hôtel

Transfert matinal à l'aéroport de Katmandou pour 1h30 de vol sur Paro. Accueil par le représentant bhoutanais et transfert vers l’hôtel.
Après le déjeuner, visites du Musée National. Tour de guet à l’origine, ce bâtiment a été transformé en musée par le troisième roi Jigme Dorji Wangchuck en 1969. Y sont exposées des collections rares de Thangkas (peintures religieuses) et de statues. La visite de ce musée est une excellente introduction à l’histoire naturelle et à la culture du Bhoutan. Puis visite de Paro Rimpong Dzong. Spécifiques de la culture bhoutanaise, les dzongs (forteresses) abritent l’administration politique et religieuse du pays. Le dzong de Paro a été construit au 17ème siècle par Shabdruing Ngawang Namgyel, le fondateur du Bhoutan. 200 moines y vivent et y côtoient l’administration du district. Descente à pied vers le fameux pont en bois pour rejoindre le bourg de Paro.
Quartier libre en ville.
- Hébergement : Hôtel

Arrêt au temple de Ta-Chhogagang, traversée d’un pont suspendu métallique du 14ème  siècle. Il fut construit par le grand ingénieur et poète bouddhiste, Lama Thangtong Gyalpo ou Lama Chazampa.
A Thimphu, visite de l’Ecole de peinture. Toutes les peintures religieuses des temples, des monastères, des maisons et des dzongs sont réalisées par les étudiants diplômés de cette école. Visite de Changgangkha temple. Bâti au 13ème siècle, c’est le temple le plus connu de Thimphu. Vous y admirerez une remarquable statue d’Avalokiteshvara (Boddhisattva de la Compassion).
Selon la période, visite du Tashichhodzong, la résidence du chef spirituel du Bhoutan, le  Jé Khenpo et de 350 moines en été. Cette forteresse religieuse abrite aussi les bureaux du roi. Vous pourrez visiter un des temples et prendre des photos dans la cour intérieure en fin d’après-midi.
Quartier libre en ville
- Temps de trajet en voiture : 1h
- Hébergement : Hôtel

Arrêt au col de Dochula (3 150m). Vue panoramique sur les hauts sommets himalayens du Bhoutan.
Au fur et à mesure de la descente du col, nous observerons des changements spectaculaires dans les végétations semi-tropicales. Déjeuner puis marche jusqu’au village du Nyzergang, balade vers le temple du Khamsum Yuley Namgyel et marche dans les rizières et villages.
Sur le chemin de retour, petite marche vers Chhimed Lhakhang dans un cadre pittoresque, visite du temple d’un des premiers saints du Bhoutan, Drukpa Kuenley plus connu sous le nom du Fou Divin.
- Temps de trajet en voiture : 3h
- Nombre d’heures de marche : 2h
- Hébergement : Hôtel

Le matin visite du Dzong de Punakha dans la belle lumière du matin. Construit en 1637 entre la Po Chhu (rivière masculine) et la Mo Chhu (rivière féminine) ce monastère forteresse, est la résidence d’hiver des moines de Thimphu. Puis route sur le col de Pelela (3 425m), via la chaîne des montagnes noires qui  était la frontière entre le Bhoutan de l’Est et de l’Ouest. Arrêt au village du Gangtey. Les villageois sont les descendants des 140 Gomchen (méditants laïques). L’école monastique de Gangtey fut construite en 1613. Elle est la plus grande école dans l’Ouest de Bhoutan. Après l’école, descente à pied dans la vallée de Phobjikha. Observation des grues à col noir (Novembre à Février).
- Temps de trajet en voiture : 3h
- Nombre d’heures de marche : 1h
- Hébergement : Hotel

C’est une des plus belles routes du Bhoutan, aux sommets ornés de drapeaux de prières, de stupas et de moulins à prières. Traversée des villages de Rukupji, Chendebji et Tangsubjii. Arrêt pour visiter le chorten de style népalais, construit au 19ème siècle pour subjuguer les démons locaux. A l’approche de Trongsa, vue impressionnante du dzong et de sa tour. Visite du dzong construit au 17ème siècle, c’est le plus impressionnant et le plus stratégique du Bhoutan. Il y résident 200 moines.
- Temps de trajet en voiture : 4h
- Hébergement : Hôtel

Visite de Ta-dzong, tour de guet transformée en musée en 2008, il abrite 244 objets de la dynastie Wangchuck dont la fameuse ‘couronne corbeau’ porté par le premier roi. La tradition dit qu’elle le protégeait durant les guerres. Route vers la vallée de Chumé et le monastère de Tharpaling. Visite du monastère et balade à pied facile (3h) vers la vallée de Jakar en suivant l’ancien chemin utilisé par les premiers rois. Passage d’un col facile (45mn) avec vue superbe puis descente sans difficulté dans la forêt de pins pour rejoindre le Dzong de Jakar.
Quartier libre le soir à Bumthang.
- Temps de trajet en voiture : 2h
- Nombre d’heures de marche : 3h
- Hébergement : Hôtel

Journée dans la vallée de Jakar. Visite du Jakar Dzong. Il a aussi été construit au 17ème siècle. L’Oiseau Blanc a joué un rôle important dans la défense du pays. C’est maintenant la résidence de 60 moines et aussi le siège de l’administration du district. Suite de la journée au Wangdichholing Palace. Construit en 1900, c’était la résidence d’été des deux premiers rois. Abandonné mais les peintures très détaillées sont magnifiques. Visite de Jambay Lhakhang, édifié par le roi Tsongtsen Geombo du Tibet, c’est l’un des plus anciens temples du Bhoutan. Il est dédié au Bouddha du futur « Bouddha Maitreya » (tib. Jampa).
Juste avant le déjeuner, nous passons à Kurjey Lhakhang. "Kurjey" signifie "empreinte". Ici, Guru Rimpoche vint pour la première fois au Bhoutan au 8ème siècle et convertit le roi et la population au bouddhisme. Nous pouvons voir la grotte où il médita et laissa la marque de son corps. Entourée de 108 chortens, ce lieu est un des plus vénérés du pays. Déjeuner dans une ferme pour s’essayer à la vraie cuisine bhoutanaise.
Au programme l’après midi : Tamshing Lhakhang. Construit au 15ème siècle par Pema Lingpa, vénéré comme seul grand trésor religieux né au Bhoutan. Ce fut un artiste et un architecte majeur. Les peintures à l’intérieur du temple sont les plus anciennes du pays. Une chaine métallique utilisée par Pema Lingpa se trouve toujours à l’intérieur. Les pèlerins peuvent faire le tour du temple avec cette chaine pour se purifier de leurs fautes. Petite tour de la ville pour finir la journée en beauté.
- Hébergement : Même hôtel

Courte route pour rejoindre la belle vallée de Tang peu visitée par les touristes. Visite de la demeure d’Ugyen Choling, propriété d’une descendante des Shabdrung. Parfaitement entretenue, cette demeure abrite un excellent musée. Balade par les pâturages et maisons de villages. Après le déjeuner au bord de la rivière, 2h de marche facile pour une balade villageoise où l’on rencontre les écoliers en goguette, les maisons de village et un élevage de moutons. Retour à l’hôtel en voiture.
- Nombre d’heures de marche : 2h
- Hébergement : Hôtel

Vol sur Paro le matin (ou l’après-midi) : 35mn. Selon les horaires du vol, matinée libre à Bhumthang et après-midi libre à Paro.
- Hébergement : Hôtel

Haut lieux de pèlerinage depuis plus de 1200 ans. Takshang (la tanière du Tigre) est accrochée à 600 mètres sur la falaise escarpée de la vallée de Paro. Ce lieu fut initialement visité par Guru Rimpoché, le fondateur du bouddhisme dans sa forme tantrique dans les pays de l'Himalaya. Beaucoup de maîtres ont médité dans ces temples. Il faut compter environ 4 heures de marche depuis le parking (aller/retour). Visite de Kyichu Lhakhang, un des plus vieux temples du 7ème siècle.
- Nombre d’heures de marche : 4h
- Hébergement : Hôtel

Le matin vol sur Katmandou. Accueil et transfert à l’hôtel. Visite des sites de la vieille ville de Katmandou, de Patan et de Bodhnath selon le temps disponible.
- Hébergement : Hôtel

Transfert à l'aéroport pour vol retour.
Fin de nos services.

Comprend

  • Tous les transports terrestres
  • Séjour en pension complète au Bhoutan
  • 3 nuits au Kantipur Temple House à Katmandou en BB
  • Visites et entrées des sites historiques de Katmandou
  • Visa Bhoutan
  • Entrées lors des visites au Bhoutan

Ne comprend pas

  • Repas à Katmandou
  • Visa Népal
  • Vols internationaux et aller-retour Bhoutan
  • Assurance rapatriement
  • Pourboires, boissons, dépenses personnelles, équipement etc.
Besoin de nous contacter? Faire une demande Ou téléphonez au (977-1) 441 55 73